Those who are riding a scooter in Lexington, Kentucky are required to obey all applicable traffic laws. A Lexington, KY bicycle and scooter ordinance requires scooter riders to travel at 15 mph or less when operated and to follow the same set of road rules that apply to bicyclists on the roads. Similarly to riding a bike, when riding a scooter one is not required to wear a helmet but every rider should since doing so has been proven to prevent terrible head injuries when there is an accident, as concluded by the Bicyclist Safety on US Roadways report released last month by the National Transportation Safety Board.nnScooters made available to rent are called rideshare scooters or dockless scooters, and they are being used as convenient, clean energy transportation alternatives in cities throughout our nation. Currently in Lexington, Neutron Holdings, Inc. rents “Lime” scooters and Skinny Labs Inc., a subsidiary of Ford Motor Company, is renting out “Spin” scooters to the public.nnScooters are very popular for those who are looking for a clean, convenient transportation fix within city limits, but they can cause serious traffic accidents when a scooter rider is not wearing their helmet and they get hit by a car. This often happens when the person who rented the scooter did not take the time to review the Lexington scooter riding rules or maybe the rider is riding a scooter while drunk, but a serious injury can occur even if the rider was obeying all of the traffic rules and statutes. These injuries are so severe because, for some unknown reason, there is legal no requirement for riders to wear helmets while riding a scooter they rented in Lexington, KY. For this reason, one of the most common injuries are brain injuries and concussions. If you’ve experienced a head injury from a scooter accident or any other car accident then you should be aware of the signs of a traumatic brain injury after an accident so you may treat your injury properly and in a timely manner so you do not permanently lose your cognitive function abilities.nnIf you have hit your head in a scooter or car accident then it’s very important you obtain treatment and professional supervision for 24 hours after your head injury. You may need immediate treatment or you may not display symptoms initially and begin to display serious symptoms within the first 24 hours that were not evident upon your initial examination. According to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, traumatic brain injuries are the leading cause of death and disabilities in children and young adults in the United States; don’t risk leaving your head injury untreated.nnIf the insurance company will not cover your medical bills after a head injury then contact the Lexington, Kentucky personal injury lawyer who works every day to help injured Kentuckians recover from serious brain injuries. Call or Text 859-358-0300 to determine whether or not you need your own personal injury attorney after your head injury.
BLOG & ACCIDENT NEWS
BLOG & ACCIDENT NEWS
Blog Post Categories
In Kentucky, the thaw of spring has started and everyone is eager to get out from under the deep freeze of winter. This is good news for those on the road who will no longer have to contend with ice and snow along the way. However, dangers on the road are present all year round, albeit in different forms. Even without the ice and snow, summer continues to pose a greater danger to the roads than do the winter months. Increased traffic, daylight savings time, wet roads and tire blowouts and issues are just a few reasons for this. Daylight Savings Time It’s in March when the clock jumps ahead an hour and everyone loses an hour of sleep. This doesn’t always sound like a big jump in the circadian rhythm, but it really throws people off. Researchers from Johns Hopkins and Stanford University studied over two decades of data relating to fatal car crashes. The Monday after springing forward, there were an average of 83.5 deaths. On an average Monday (not after daylight savings), that number fell to 78.2 deaths. Losing that hour of sleep when switching to daylight savings time causes people to become foggy and drowsy behind the wheel. While this switch doesn’t occur during the middle of summer, these numbers also show how early spring can be of the most dangerous times for driving. More Drivers on the Roads Spring and summer drive people outside. They’ve been cooped up in buildings for the past several months and desperately want to get out and enjoy the fresh air. As such, there is a larger number of people on the roads. More drivers are in vehicles trying to get from one point to another, and pedestrians and cyclists are out enjoying Kentucky on foot or bike. Motorcycles, another vehicle that becomes more popular during the summer months, are also out on the roads and carry significant risks. This amount of volume greatly increases the chance of an accident. Accidents are sometimes a numbers game, and where there are more people, the more accidents that are likely to occur. Drivers, pedestrians, and anyone else sharing the road with others must always be aware of their surroundings, and act in a manner that keeps everyone safe. Accidents Caused By Tires Tires are definitely important during the winter months as they grip the road and get the passengers of vehicles where they’re going safely. While quality tires are important in the winter, they’re just as important during the summer. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, there were 116,000 injuries and 3,400 fatalities due to faulty tires between the years 2005 and 2009. The problem starts to occur when a tire becomes even slightly deflated and then travels at high speeds over very hot asphalt. This can cause a tire to explode, which is a disaster for those in the car and anyone around them. This problem only occurs in the summer, when the asphalt is extremely hot. Call Kentucky’s Car Injury Attorney if You’re Hurt in an Accident There’s a lot to love about spring and summer in Kentucky, but accidents still happen. When they do, accident victims need to speak to a Kentucky personal injury lawyer who handles Kentucky injuries almost exclusively. At the Morrin Law Office, we want to help. If you’ve been injured and someone else was at fault for the accident, call us today at (859) 358-0300 or fill out our online form to learn more about what we can do for you.
Tragedy struck on Interstate 75 in Kentucky in early January. A white pickup truck was speeding while traveling the wrong way on the highway. It crashed into a vehicle carrying a family of five. The family was traveling back to their home in Michigan after vacationing in Florida. All members of the family and the driver of the pickup truck were killed in the accident. News outlets throughout the country picked up the story, and many were left in shock at the nature of the accident. As the shock subsided, it left many with questions pertaining to these types of accidents that involve out-of-state drivers. How does insurance work? What laws govern these accidents – Kentucky’s, or the home state of the drivers involved? Out-of-State Insurance Generally speaking, an insurance policy is nationwide. This means it will cover a driver no matter where they go in the country. Assuming that the driver from Michigan had proper insurance, that insurance policy would still provide coverage in case of an accident, regardless of where it took place. As long as the issuing insurance company does business in the Commonwealth of Kentucky then they must provide at least the bare minimum insurance required by the laws of Kentucky even if such coverage is not in the insurance policy. Insurance issues become more complicated if the policy was purchased outside of the country. If the family had been from Canada, for example, that insurance policy is not typically applicable in the United States. Drivers that are from outside of the country need to purchase additional insurance that will cover them in case an accident occurs while they are not in their home country. While the insurance policy will still provide coverage, the coverage provided is governed by the state in which the accident occurred. Applying that to this latest story, Michigan is a no-fault auto insurance state. Kentucky on the other hand, is a no-fault optional state. If the pickup driver had Kentucky no-fault insurance, both drivers may have gone through their own insurance companies to collect accident benefits. If the Kentucky driver had rejected no-fault insurance, though, the Kentucky insurance company would need to determine fault before making a payment for the Kentucky driver, and the insurance company of the at-fault driver would provide accident benefits to each. Out-of-State Personal Injury Lawsuits Often, when an insurance company does not provide the coverage needed, a personal injury lawsuit is filed against the at-fault driver. Just as the insurance laws of the state in which the accident occurred apply, so do the negligence laws of that state. If the family’s remaining relatives wished to file a wrongful death lawsuit, they would need to do so in Kentucky, as that is where the accident happened. This doesn’t mean that they would need to spend weeks, months, or even years in Kentucky. Those who are filing a lawsuit in Kentucky but live in another state can hire an attorney to represent them and to appear on their behalf. Most communication is done by email or phone. However, if the case went to court, the family members will need to visit Kentucky for a short period of time and appear before a judge and jury. In the Most Complicated Cases, You Need a Richmond Car Accident Attorney Nearly every car accident has its own challenges. There are some cases, however, where the complexities make a case extremely challenging, such as when you are in a Kentucky accident with a driver from out of state. While having legal representation is recommended for any car accident involving a serious injury, in cases like these, speaking to a Richmond personal injury attorney is of critical importance. If you have been involved in a car accident, you know how important it is to get back to your best health right away. At the Morrin Law Office, we’ll help you do just that. Call us today at (859) 358-0300 to see how we can help sort out insurance issues, and even help you file a lawsuit against an at-fault driver but only if absolutely necessary. There are many difficult questions after an accident. We have the answers, and we will use them to protect your interests during this difficult time.
Kentucky passed the state’s texting and driving ban in 2011. Since that time, however, law enforcement has stated that the law has been difficult to enforce. This is largely due to the fact that while texting and driving is illegal in the state, using a handheld device is not. Drivers can still punch in phone numbers or use GPS systems. This poses a problem not only for police, but for other drivers, too. Texting and driving, just like disobeying any other traffic laws, is considered negligent. As such, if a driver is caught texting while behind the wheel and causes an accident, they can be held liable to provide compensation to other drivers injured in the accident. Unfortunately, the burden of proof is on the injured driver. This means they must show that the driver that caused the accident was negligent. So, if the police can’t prove a driver was texting, how can another driver? It’s not always easy, but it is possible, and a Kentucky personal injury lawyer can help. Tell Officers on the Scene When a motor vehicle accident occurs in Kentucky, those involved must report it to the Kentucky State Police if there is any injury or property damage over $500. When this is the case, the injured driver should tell the police officer if they believe the other driver was texting or if they think the other driver is drunk. The police may ask for that driver’s phone right at the scene to verify that texts were being sent at the time of the accident. According to Kentucky’s texting and driving law, it is also illegal for a driver to read any text messages while a vehicle is in motion. If the officer sees that a person even just received a text, this can help verify the story of the injured individual. If the police also believe the driver was texting while driving, they may issue a citation. The penalty for texting while driving in the state is very small. However, the citation will go in official records, and injured drivers can use this to strengthen their case in court. Subpoena Phone Records Perhaps the best way to prove that a driver was texting while driving, and therefore caused an accident, is to subpoena their phone records from their cell phone carrier. In order to do this, the injured individual must first file a personal injury claim. Subpoenas are difficult to come by for those not in a legal profession, but personal injury lawyers are very familiar with the process. An attorney can also file a personal injury lawsuit on the injured party’s behalf before getting a subpoena. It is important that both actions are taken as soon as possible. Cell phone providers only keep records for a specific period of time. Issuing a subpoena right away will ensure these records are still on file, which can help prove a case. In addition, accident victims find that an attorney is most helpful when they are part of the claim from the very beginning. Contact a Kentucky Car Accident Attorney Who Can Get the Proof You Need Car accident cases are often very complicated. When evidence is needed that is difficult to come by, such as that a driver was texting while driving, it becomes even more challenging. A car accident lawyer in Kentucky can help accident victims get the proof they need. If you or a loved one has been in an accident and believe someone else was at fault, contact Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. We will help you get back to your best health, and best life, as quickly as possible and obtain any evidence needed to help further your claim.
Ride-sharing companies such as Uber and Lyft have become popular throughout the country, and Kentucky is no exception. These services are often touted for their convenience and safety. They are especially popular in downtown areas, where it is difficult to find parking, and both companies have been praised in the past for getting more drunk drivers off of the road. While ride-sharing services may boast some safety benefits, contracted drivers for any ride-share service are not immune to the possibility of getting into an accident on the road. When this happens, who is held liable for the accident? In addition, which insurance company should those who are injured contact? Is it the driver’s own personal insurance company, or the insurance company of the ride-sharing service? These are all questions that make a ride-sharing accident so much more complicated than most other accidents on the road. Generally speaking, however, there are some guidelines that passengers, contracted drivers, and other drivers can follow in the event of an accident. Passengers Hurt in an Uber or Lyft Accident In the event of an accident, passengers of an Uber or Lyft typically have the most protection. This is due to the fact that they can seek accident benefits through both the driver’s insurance policy, and the insurance policy of the ride-sharing company. Passengers will need to first obtain benefits through the driver’s personal insurance. When these benefits are not enough to cover the cost of injury, they can seek benefits through the ride-share company’s insurance. Both Uber and Lyft drivers are insured by the James River Insurance Company up to $1 million for accidents. As long as injuries do not exceed this threshold, accident victims should have access to this insurance. Uber or Lyft Drivers Hurt in an Accident Uber and Lyft drivers enjoy the same protection offered by the ride-sharing company’s insurance policy as passengers do. A driver is only eligible for the insurance provided by the ride-sharing company if they had already accepted a fare and were carrying passengers at the time of the accident. Ride-sharing drivers are also subject to the same stipulations as passengers. This means that a driver must go through their own insurance policy first before asking the ride-sharing company’s insurance for additional benefits. Many insurance companies require that ride-sharing drivers purchase more insurance than the minimum PIP amounts outlined by Kentucky law. If it is found that the driver did not have this additional insurance and was carrying passengers at the time of the accident, an insurance company may deny the claim altogether. Uber and Lyft specifically also provide coverage for their drivers when they are not carrying passengers, but are instead between rides. That is, the driver is still working, but they do not currently have any passengers. When this is the case, the amount of insurance available to the Uber or Lyft driver drops to $100,000. Other Drivers Injured in an Uber or Lyft Accident When another driver is injured in an accident involving an Uber or Lyft, and the ride-sharing driver is found to be at fault, the other driver will have the same rights as an Uber or Lyft passenger. They must first file a claim with the ride-sharing driver’s insurance company. If the accident benefits obtained through that company are not enough to cover the cost of injury, they can then file a claim with the ride-sharing service’s insurance company. Anyone Injured in a Ride-Sharing Accident Needs a Kentucky Car Accident Lawyer When an accident happens on the road that involves a ride-sharing vehicle, anyone injured needs to speak to a Kentucky personal injury attorney. While any accident on the road will have its own complications, things can become extremely complex when dealing with multiple insurance companies. In addition, a lawyer can speak to the insurance company on the injured individual’s behalf to ensure they get a fair settlement. If you have been injured in an accident involving an Uber, Lyft, or any other ride-sharing service, contact the Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. We’ll help you get the accident benefits you need to get you back living your best life as soon as possible.
When pedestrians are hit by a vehicle, the consequences are enormous for the person on foot. With very little protection, pedestrians don’t stand much of a chance when hit with a two-ton vehicle. In the best of circumstances, the pedestrian will often have a very good chance of claiming compensation to help with the expenses associated with the accident. This becomes much more difficult, though, if the driver flees the scene. So, what can pedestrians do in the case of a hit-and-run accident? Seeking medical treatment is the first course of action a pedestrian should take. Pedestrian accidents result in the worst kinds of injuries, and the most important thing is that the pedestrian gets back to their best health and best life as soon as possible. After getting any necessary medical treatment, there are a few things the pedestrian can do to help with their injuries further down the road. Report the Accident to the Police A pedestrian isn’t going to find the person that hit them on their own. This is why it’s so important to report the accident to the police. Try to remember the make and model of the vehicle, as well as the license plate number. The vehicle is also likely going to sustain some damage during a hit and run – knowing which part of the vehicle was most involved in the accident can help police look for the damaged vehicle and identify it. The only way a pedestrian can seek compensation through a civil lawsuit is if the hit-and-run driver is caught. However, there are other methods of claiming benefits that can help with the cost of recovery as well. Report the Accident to Your Insurance Company Kentucky is a no-fault auto insurance state. Due to this, if a pedestrian has a vehicle, they can often report the accident to their own insurance company and receive accident benefits this way. It’s important to contact the insurance company as soon as possible to get a claim started so you can cover your medical bills, get lost wage compensation, and have your out-of-pocket expenses caused by your injury. Oftentimes, insurance companies are even more hesitant to pay claims involving hit and run drivers than if the accident involved two vehicles. Not only are you entitled to PIP insurance through your own insurance company, you may be entitled to receive a claim payment through your uninsured motorist insurance policy if you purchased it. Speak to Kentucky’s Injury Lawyer A lawyer can help in the case that the hit-and-run driver is found and the injured individual wishes to file a lawsuit. Pedestrians in a hit and run often have a very good chance of success if the driver is found. Under Kentucky Revised Statutes 189.580, all drivers must stop at the scene of the accident and provide reasonable assistance. When they fail to do so, it is easier to prove they were negligent, tipping the odds in favor of the pedestrian. Even if the hit-and-run driver can’t be found, a personal injury lawyer can still help. An attorney can speak to the insurance company on the injured party’s behalf and ensure that the pedestrian gets the full amount of accident benefits they are entitled to, from each and every applicable insurance policy. Involved in a Hit and Run? Contact a Kentucky Pedestrian Accident Lawyer Who Can Help No one ever wants to think that they’ll be involved in a hit-and-run accident. Unfortunately, these accidents happen more often than people think. Injured parties don’t often realize they may still be entitled to compensation after a hit and run, which is why they need to speak to a Kentucky personal injury lawyer as soon as possible. If you have been the victim of a hit and run, or any other type of pedestrian accident, call or text the Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. You may qualify for our no up-front cost representation. We want to help you get back to your best life as soon as possible.
Hundreds of thousands of people use the public transportation systems in Kentucky every year. When getting on board a bus, these passengers expect to get to their destinations safely. For many, this is their main reason for taking a bus instead of driving themselves. Unfortunately, these bus rides don’t always end safely. Vehicles used for public transportation are no more immune to accidents on the road than others, and they do sometimes happen. Not all public transportation accidents involve any other vehicles, either. People get hurt while standing on buses, and while boarding and disembarking. These entities have insurance that will cover medical bills and other expenses if you are injured on, getting on, or getting off of one of their buses. So, what can Kentuckians do if they are injured on public transportation? And what kind of injuries should passengers report to the authorities? Common Causes of Public Transportation Injuries When many people consider injuries resulting from an accident on public transportation, they often only consider accidents that involve other vehicles. However, most of the injuries sustained on public transpiration don’t involve a collision with other vehicles. The majority of public transportation injuries come from a person simply being on the bus, which is riskier than it sounds. Some of the most common causes of these injuries include: Slip and falls due to wet platforms and wet floors, particularly in the winter when snow is carried on by passenger’s shoes; Drivers who are distracted while talking to other passengers; Overloaded buses that cause more slip and falls; Sudden starts and stops, which could cause a person to fall, hit their head, or get whiplash; and Loose items inside the bus, such as bags and phones that hit other passengers in the event of a sudden stop. It may seem as though the injuries sustained on a bus are not that severe, but that’s not always true. For example, if a passenger hits their head on the window or twists their knee during a sudden stop or jolt forward, they could sustain a concussion, traumatic brain injury, or torn ACL or meniscus, which are all very serious injuries that will require extensive medical care. When passengers are seriously hurt on a bus, it’s important they report the injury to the driver, even though it is embarrassing, and fill out an incident report immediately Filing an Incident Report and Filing a Claim Whether you have an injury from riding the Trans Authority of River City (TARC) in Louisville, Transit Authority of Lexington (Lextran), the Transit Authority of Northern Kentucky (TANK), or even private transportation like a Greyhound in Kentucky, what you do immediately after your injury can help you recover or, if you do nothing, then it can prevent you from recovering needed funds for necessary medical care. Regardless of the type of bus transportation, private or public, the first step if you have been injured while riding a bus in Kentucky is to file an incident report. If the bus driver tries to prevent you from filing an incident report then ask the driver for his or her name, and tell them if they do not file the incident report that you will call their company and insist a report be filed. Drivers will sometimes try to avoid filing a report for reasons such as they don’t want to stop on their route to wait for medical care to arrive or the driver may not wish to have any blemishes on their driving record. When passengers are injured on public transportation, they can often file a claim against the government entity that operates and manages that transportation. This is not the same as filing a personal injury claim in Kentucky, as government entities have certain immunities and the process is quite different. In order to file a claim against the government in Kentucky, injured individuals must file a claim with their city or county attorney. When filing the claim, it’s helpful if the injured person includes the details of the injury, why they believe a public employee is at fault, any medical bills incurred, and other supporting evidence. Those hurt on public transportation have only one year from the date of the accident to file this claim. Waiting any longer will likely mean the claim is no longer valid, and the injured individual is barred from receiving any type of compensation for their injuries. In claims against the government, that compensation is also capped at $200,000. Think You Have a Claim? Speak to a Kentucky Top 10 Personal Injury Attorney It is possible to file a claim against a government entity in Kentucky, but that doesn’t mean it’s easy. Anyone hurt on public transportation, or anywhere else on government property should speak to a personal injury lawyer in Richmond who can help. If you’re hurt, contact the Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. We know how to hold entities responsible for causing an accident that resulted in injury, and that includes government entities. These are some of the most complicated cases to pursue, so you don’t want to attempt it on your own. Call or text us today or fill out our online form for your free case evaluation to learn more about how we can help you.
After an accident, there are several things you’ll need to do in order to get back to your best life as soon as possible. Seeking medical attention for any injuries is likely your biggest priority. Once you’re back on your feet, though, you’ll likely want your vehicle back in proper working condition. While it’s natural to want your wheels and mobility back, there are some things to know before repairing your vehicle after an accident. First, Take Pictures Don’t get your vehicle repaired without taking a lot of pictures of the damage first. No-fault insurance in Kentucky does not cover property damage, only personal injury. Due to this, you’ll likely have to speak to the other driver’s insurance company about the repairs you need. You want to ensure you receive a settlement from them that will cover the full cost of the repairs. The insurance company won’t want to provide this fair coverage, so you’ll need to validate that you need it for the amount of damage to your vehicle. If you get your vehicle repaired without taking pictures, you won’t have this proof. In addition, the insurance company may say you had repairs made that had nothing to do with the accident. You Can Use Your Own Body Shop The insurance company may also try to tell you that in order to receive a settlement, you’ll need to only visit certain body shops. They do this because insurance companies have deals with many body shops. They send you to a particular shop for repairs, giving more business to the shop. In exchange for that new business, the insurance company tells the shop to use non-OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) parts. This means that the parts could possibly be defective or faulty. The parts may have even been recalled in the past. When any of these parts are on your vehicle, there’s a much greater chance of an accident and injury because your vehicle is not safe. Know that you can, and you should, go to any mechanic or body shop you choose. Ask the Shop or a Lawyer to Call the Insurance Company Again, the insurance company likely isn’t going to want to pay the full cost of your car repairs. Due to this, they’ll say certain repairs aren’t entirely necessary, or that you can use cheaper parts. Even after a mechanic fully explains to you why you need certain parts, you may not understand enough to explain it to the insurance company. When this is the case, know that you can ask the shop to call the insurance company and explain it to them. An attorney is also well-versed enough in these matters to call the insurance company and explain what’s needed. When your lawyer phones the insurance company, they can also discuss other details of your case, such as the extent of your injuries. Most vehicles, as indicated in the Owner’s Manual, must have all restraint systems replaced after their has been a collision for basic safety. Many repair shops overlook this and the insurance company certainly isn’t going to remind them. Make sure you have your vehicle’s restraint system replaced after you have been in a car accident in Kentucky. Speak to a Kentucky Car Accident Lawyer Who Can Help After an accident, dealing with the insurance company is often one of the most difficult things for car accident victims. A car accident lawyer in Richmond can negotiate with the insurance company on behalf of those injured to obtain fair treatment and fair compensation. If you’ve been hurt in a car accident, contact the Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. We’ll review the facts of your case, make sure you know how to get to your best life from here, and we will hold the insurance company accountable for the full settlement you deserve. Call or text us today or complete our online form for your free case evaluation.
It was in early March when a student of a Hardin County high school lost her life in a car accident. The 18-year-old was on the fast track to success, having already earned 30 college credits while working towards high school graduation. She was the third student lost in six months from just that one school. It’s a growing problem throughout the country. The fact of the matter is, teen drivers are more likely to get into accidents once they start learning how to drive. It’s not only that they’re more likely to engage in dangerous behaviors behind the wheel, such as texting and driving; it’s that they simply don’t have the experience to react to dangerous situations in a safe manner. It’s a thought that terrifies parents, which is why every parent needs to know how to keep their teen safe once they get that coveted driver’s license. Know the Risks According to the National Safety Council, 50 percent of all teens will get into a car accident before they graduate high school. No one wants to think about the chance of their teen getting into an accident, but it does happen. Teens are particularly at risk within the first few months of obtaining their license, when they have very little experience behind the wheel and are most excited to drive. Practice, Practice, Practice The only solution to a teen’s inexperience is to let them drive, as scary as it is for parents. Experts suggest practicing driving with a teenager for at least 30 to 50 hours while the parent is in the passenger seat. In order to get the most practice for the variety of conditions that are present on the roads, it’s important that this practice takes place during different times of the day, with different volumes of traffic, and with different road conditions. This can help them gain experience, and will reduce the chances they get into an accident. Teach Defensive Driving The safest bet against an accident is having some knowledge of defensive driving. This includes remaining a safe distance behind other vehicles, being aware of a person’s surroundings, and knowing what safe routes to take to avoid an accident, such as swerving to the shoulder to avoid an accident up ahead. Review many different situations with your teen, including what to do if an animal wanders onto the road, or if a large truck suddenly swings out into traffic. Send Them to Drivers’ Education Classes Parents are certainly great teachers, and this includes when their child starts learning to drive. A professional drivers’ education course, though, is a real benefit to anyone about to go out on the road. These professionals understand what actions teens are more likely to take, and will give them real hands-on training behind the wheel. Not only is drivers’ education a good idea, but it’s also a requirement in the state of Kentucky for anyone wishing to obtain a driver’s license. Be a Role Model It may not seem like it all the time, but teenagers watch what their parents are doing and are likely to mimic it. This means that at all times, parents should wear their seatbelts, refrain from texting and driving, and never get behind the wheel after having a couple of drinks. Showing your teen what safe driving looks like is one of the best ways to instill good driving values in them. Give Them Back-Up Little in life is as overwhelming as the moments immediately following a car crash, especially if you’re a new driver. That’s why Morrin Law Office is making sure its clients are never alone when tragedy strikes with their new app. Operating like a free version of OnStar, the Morrin Law Injury Help app enables its users to completely and conveniently document the scene of an accident: photos, videos, location, and vehicle/contact information for the other driver, any witnesses, and the reporting officer. One can also find and contact the nearest emergency services (such as hospitals and towing companies), readily store license and insurance information, review frequently asked questions and accident advice, and even record any trip with a dashboard camera. The app recognizes an accident the second it happens using the phone’s built-in accelerometer and GPS and notifies the user’s listed emergency contacts via text message, even if the app is operating in the background. Using sophisticated car crash data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, it can easily distinguish between a hard brake and a true accident. Download the app now on your teen’s Apple or Android devices. Were You or Your Teen in an Accident? Contact a Kentucky Car Accident Lawyer Even when teenagers are extremely careful behind the wheel, accidents still sometimes happen and teens aren’t automatically at fault just because of their young age. If your teenager was in an accident and someone else was at fault, they can still claim compensation, and a Richmond car accident lawyer can help them get it. If you or your child has been in a car accident, contact Morrin Law Office at (859) 358-0300. We will review the facts of the case, and collect evidence to help prove liability. This can help your teen claim compensation to help with their medical bills, property damage, and any other costs related to the accident. Everyone deserves justice when someone else is at fault for an accident. Let us help your family get it.
Drivers have a lot to watch out for on the road. Negligent drivers, pedestrians, and cyclists are all on a driver’s radar when they’re behind the wheel. As it turns out though, cracked pavement, large potholes, and other poor road conditions are just as important to watch out for. These can cause damage to a vehicle’s suspension, shocks, tires, and more. They can also cause accidents with other vehicles. So, when poor road conditions have caused you to suffer losses, either through property damage or injury, do you have any legal recourse? You just might. The Data on Kentucky’s Roads Poor road conditions cause thousands of car accidents every year all over the country. According to the U.S. Department of Transportation, 34 percent of the roads in Kentucky are classified as being in mediocre or poor condition. More than 31 percent of bridges are now considered obsolete because they don’t function, or they are considered structurally deficient. The problem has many in Kentucky wondering why the number of poorly maintained roads is so high. For drivers who have to navigate roads with poor lighting, broken or missing guardrails, and ruts, they want to know what Kentucky is going to do about the problem. They also want to know if there’s anything they can do to claim compensation for damages. The 2018 Highway Plan While it’s already 2019, the 2018 Highway Plan set out by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is still being carried out. In fact according to the plan, it’s one that’s going to take six years to complete. The plan includes roadway maintenance programs, resurfacing programs, repairing guardrails, patching asphalt, and more. The plan is going to cost $8.5 billion, but taxpayers faced with car repair bills may not show concern over the plan’s cost. If it means they can stop paying out hundreds on car repair bills every year, it might just be worth it. The bigger problem is what to do in the meantime. With the plan taking Kentuckians until at least 2023, if it’s finished on time, do drivers have any recourse after sustaining damage to their vehicle? Recourse for Damaged Vehicles in Kentucky It’s possible to seek compensation from the state after sustaining property damage due to poor road conditions. The Kentucky Claims Commissions accepts and reviews claims, and there is no fee for filing. However, only claims for property damage in an amount more than $250 are accepted, and drivers must provide proof that the damage was caused by bad roads. After receiving a claim, the Kentucky Claims Commission will review it and make a decision regarding whether or not they will provide compensation for the damage. Claims for damage over $2,500 are decided on within 30 days, while those under $2,500 are decided on within 60 days. If the Commission decides to provide compensation, a check is written immediately for the damage. If the Commission determines they are not to blame and do not wish to provide reimbursement, a hearing will take place. Filing a claim with the Kentucky Claims Commission can quickly become complicated. They have strict deadlines and proper procedures to follow at all times. Having an attorney by your side will ensure fair treatment and consideration. In an Accident Caused by Poor Roads? Contact a Kentucky Personal Injury Lawyer If you’ve been in an accident due to poor road conditions, don’t try to take the state on by yourself. Call the personal injury lawyer in Kentucky who can help. At Morrin Law Office, we want to talk to you about your claim and the options you have available. We’ll help you file a strong claim that the Kentucky Claims Commission will have to take seriously, and we’ll fight for any reimbursement you are entitled to. Call us today at (859) 358-0300 or fill out our online form for a free case evaluation.